Public Works Committee


  • 4 p.m.
  • Fourth Thursday of every month

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View All Agendas and Minutes


  • Jerry Wamser, Alderman
  • Jeffrey Tormey
  • Michael Kreiter
  • David Swan

The Public Works Committee consists of five members, the mayor or the mayor's appointed designee, a Common Council member, and three citizen members. The Public Works Committee is appointed by the mayor, subject to confirmation by the Common Council at the first regular meeting of a newly elected council, except that the mayor’s appointment is not subject to confirmation of the council. View Chapter 1, Section 1.12 of the Municipal code for more information. Staff includes the public works director.

Compensation for citizen members is $20 per meeting.


The Committee helps oversee Public Works activities including:

  • Building and fleet maintenance
  • Drainage projects
  • Road projects
  • Sewer projects
  • Street lighting
  • Traffic management (i.e. traffic signs, parking, speed limits)
  • Water projects

Most recommended projects require City Council approval.

View Chapter 1, Section 1.12 of the municipal code for more information about the Public Works Committee.