Fair Housing Council

Fair Housing Rights

Federal and state fair housing laws make it illegal to discriminate in housing based on the following protected classes:

  • Race – A person’s race or the race of persons with whom one associates.
  • Color – A person’s skin color.
  • Sex – A person’s sex, including sexual harassment or intimidation.
  • National Origin/Ancestry – The country of one’s birth and/or the nationality of one’s ancestors.
  • Religion – A person’s religious beliefs or denominational affiliation.
  • Disability/Handicap – A physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities.
  • Family/Familial Status – Household composition, including the presence of children.
  • Age – Persons 18 years of age and older.
  • Marital Status – Married, single, divorced, widowed or separated.
  • Lawful Source of Income – A person’s legal means of income, including such subsidized forms as Social Security, Food Stamps, Unemployment Compensation, etc.
  • Sexual Orientation – Heterosexuality, homosexuality and bisexuality.
  • Domestic Abuse, Sexual Assault and Stalking Victims – Persons who have been or are victims of domestic abuse, sexual assault or stalking.

Service Locations

The Metropolitan Milwaukee Fair Housing Council’s primary service areas are described below. They conduct out-of-service area activities as well, so if you have a fair housing concern elsewhere in the state, please don’t hesitate to call their toll-free statewide complaint intake line, 1-877-647-FAIR (3247).

Metropolitan Milwaukee 

The Metropolitan Milwaukee Fair Housing Council’s headquarters has been located in Milwaukee since 1977. The southeast Wisconsin service area includes Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Washington and Waukesha Counties.

Metropolitan Milwaukee Fair Housing Council
759 N. Milwaukee Street, Suite 500
Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone: 414-278-1240
Fax: 414-278-8033
Toll-free statewide complaint intake line: 1-877-647-FAIR (3247),
[for use outside the 414 area code]